NASA announced the date of the return of astronauts from the ISS on the SpaceX Crew Dragon

NASA announced the date of the return of astronauts from the ISS on the SpaceX Crew Dragon


The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) has decided on the timing of the return of astronauts Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley from the ISS on the SpaceX Crew Dragon. As previously reported, this will happen in early August.

The Crew Dragon spacecraft, which astronauts dubbed “Endeavor” (Aspiration), is due to splash down in the Atlantic Ocean on August 2 at about 15:00 ET (22:00 Moscow time), spokesman for NASA’s Lyndon Johnson Space Center Kyle Herring told CNBC.

Herring noted that the time for Crew Dragon to undock from the ISS is “a slightly variable amount,” although he indicated in an email that the spacecraft is scheduled to be sent around 20:00 ET on August 1 (August 2, 03:00 Moscow time). These dates were also confirmed by NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine.

The successful landing of Crew Dragon will mark the end of NASA’s SpaceX Demo-2 mission, which began with the launch on May 30 of a spacecraft on a Falcon 9 rocket from Launch Complex 39 at the John Fitzgerald Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

Since Demo-2 is considered a test flight, there were only two astronauts aboard the spacecraft. Crew 1, which NASA considers SpaceX’s first commercial mission, will have four astronauts aboard the Crew Dragon spacecraft. Reportedly, SpaceX and NASA have already begun pre-launching for Crew Dragon’s second manned flight.

If you notice an error, select it with the mouse and press CTRL + ENTER.

Leave a Comment