Sajjad Hussain / AFP / Getty Images

WhatsApp told what it will do with those who do not agree to the new privacy rules


Recently, WhatsApp announced that on May 15 it will still introduce new privacy rules, which have caused a storm of outrage and massive user interest in other messengers. Until that date, she will communicate real policy changes, reducing concerns. But what happens to those users who do not accept the terms after May 15th?

Sajjad Hussain / AFP / Getty Images

Sajjad Hussain / AFP / Getty Images

In an email to one of its trading partners that fell into the hands of TechCrunch reporters, the Facebook-owned company said it would urge users to comply with the new terms and conditions so that they can use the full functionality of WhatsApp after May 15th.

If users do not accept the terms, then for a short time after the announced date they will be able to still receive calls and notifications, but they will not be able to read or send messages from the application. When reporters contacted WhatsApp, representatives of the latter confirmed that the note exactly matched her plans.

“A short time” will last for several weeks. Then users will have another 120 days “Inaction”after which, in accordance with current WhatsApp policy, their accounts may be deleted.

Angie Wang / The New York Times

Angie Wang / The New York Times

The updated policy will allow Facebook to actively engage with businesses through WhatsApp. The new policy may cause interactions with various companies through WhatsApp to affect ads that appear on Facebook. The changes appear to be minor, but the company made them without prior announcements, which, along with a general distrust of Facebook, caused widespread backlash. Many interpreted the update as Facebook’s desire to receive personal data from WhatsApp users without the option of opt-out. But in reality, the largest social network already has the ability to collect a lot of information about what people are doing on WhatsApp. Currently, the messenger is used by more than 2 billion people.

If you notice an error, select it with the mouse and press CTRL + ENTER.

Leave a Comment